The Palm Springs Modern Committee Annual Preservation Awards Celebrating 12 Years!

by Coachella Valley | September 26, 2014 7:27 pm

241[1]The Palm Springs Modern Committee Annual Preservation Awards Celebrating 12 Years!

PS ModCom is excited to announce the popular Annual Preservation Awards Luncheon has grown to become, for the first time, an evening cocktail reception and dinner event.

On Saturday, October 4, 2014, we will celebrate this year’s award recipients over cocktails, a three course dinner and wine.

We also excited to announce our new location. Together with our new partner, the Hard Rock Hotel, will be hosting the event and we look forward to you joining us for a glamorous evening from 6 – 9pm.

Opening up the 2014-2015 season in grand style, 2014 Annual Preservation Awards will honor members of our community for their outstanding achievements in the fields of preservation and contemporary design.

This year’s event will be hosted at the Hard Rock Hotel in Palm Springs, with Trina Turk and JR Roberts serving as co-emcees for the evening.

Don’t miss the chance to see and be seen at this fun and elegant evening.


Tickets available to PS ModCom Members and Non-Members by clicking here[2]

$75 per Person

$675 per Table of 10 

Please RSVP to Nickie McLaughlin, Executive Director at

Please join us in celebrating this year’s recipients:


Residential Re-Imagination Award
Residential Re-Imagination Award[3]

Residential Re-Imagination Award

Brent R. Harris & Brad Dunning

Hefferlin House
Richard Wheeler and Albert Frey, 1961, 1977
Re-imagined by Brad Dunning 2006 – 2013

Becket House
Welton Becket and Associates, 1960
Re-imagined by Brad Dunning 2008 – 2013

 Marian Hefferlin: “The house made a half circle, the entire inside wall was sliding glass doors as every room was on the patio, the walled in backyard and behind it the mountain. A long circular hall went from the living room all the way to my bedroom, the architect’s always told me I was going to need roller skates.”


Residential Preservation Award

Residential Preservation Award[4]

Residential Preservation Award

 James Spindler
“On the Rocks” 1961 (Architect Unknown)
An original post and beam, glass-walled organic house with a unique cantilevered carport exquisitely placed among the rugged rocks of the hillside





Residential Restoration Award

Residential Restoration Award[5]

Residential Restoration Award

Barbara and Michael Malamut Residence
William F. Cody, 1958
Following a series of 1980’s upgrades, the new owners were fortunate to have some of the original features of the house remaining, which became the footprint for the restoration of this Rancho Mirage gem.





Sustainability in New Design Award

Sustainability in New Design Award[6]

Sustainability in New Design Award

Rick Walsh and Pat Dowd
Lance O’Donnell, o2 Architects, 2013
Known as the “Net Zero House”, the goal was to build a simple, modern house that embraced western views while consuming little or no energy



Preservationist of the Year

Tracy Conrad

Tracy Conrad, Preservationist of the Year[7]

Tracy Conrad, Preservationist of the Year

Tracy’s dedication to retaining the historical resources of the City of Palm Springs has been well served by her residential restorations of The Willows and The O’Donnell Residences, along with countless hours spent serving on a wide variety of boards and commissions on the forefront of preservation.
  1. [Image]:
  2. clicking here:
  3. [Image]:
  4. [Image]:
  5. [Image]:
  6. [Image]:
  7. [Image]:

Source URL: