Borrego Springs and the Galleta Meadows is a Perfect Day Trip from the Coachella Valley

by Publisher CoachellaValley | October 14, 2023 2:33 pm

Galleta Meadows Estate

Borrego Springs, California[1]

Along a California highway is a kind of Jurassic Park made of metal.  

Galleta Meadows

Borrego Springs Road
Borrego Springs, California, 92004
United States

33.2877, -116.3755

View on Google Maps Visit Website 

https://youtu.be/kkHkcHyS35c
5 Go To Places To Eat in Borreo Springs, Ca VisitBorrego.com

Borrego Springs The New Boomtown[2]

Map to the sculptures
Ride by Bike – Map to the sculptures

Anza-Borrego Coyote – Coachella Valley Photo of the Day! – by Sicco Road[3]

NEARBY:

Pegleg Smith Monument 4.48 miles[4] [5]

Font’s Point7.70 miles[6]

Eagle and High Peak Mine19.07 miles[7]

Sprinkled throughout the small town of Borrego Springs are over 130 of these meticulously crafted metal sculptures.

Elephants, raptors, mammoths, sloths, and saber-toothed tigers prowl the desert off Borrego Springs Road north and south of the town proper.

From ground-hugging desert tortoises to rearing horses, each rust-colored sculpture is filled with intricate detail–from the curling eyelashes of 10-foot high elephants to the shaved metal fur of the equally imposing sloths.

Owning a Vacation Home Easier Than Ever![8]
Vacationpropertypartners.com/coachella-vacation-home/[9]

As large as these sculptures are, they can be tricky to find. The Galleta Meadows Estate has Elephants, sloths, camels, and raptors that roam the roads north off Borrego Springs Road toward Henderson Canyon Road. South of Borrego Springs, Borrego Springs Road becomes S-3 as it slides toward Ocotillo Wells. Wild horses and raptors border the highway here before Yaqui Pass Road.

Know Before You Go

Borrego Springs is two hours east of San Diego. From North County, take Hwy. 78 east to the park. Printed maps are available from the Borrego Springs Library, The Anza-Borrego Foundation, and the Anza-Borrego Desert Natural History Association.

Newly Expanded $68M Desert Orthopedic Center Opens[10]
The Salton Sea, Salvation Mtn. After a spring visit to Joshua Tree National Park[11]
Endnotes:
  1. Borrego Springs, California: https://www.atlasobscura.com/things-to-do/borrego-springs-california
  2. Borrego Springs The New Boomtown: https://coachellavalley.com/borrego-springs-the-new-boomtown/
  3. Anza-Borrego Coyote – Coachella Valley Photo of the Day! – by Sicco Road: https://coachellavalley.com/anza-borrego-coachella-valley-photo-of-the-day-by-sicco-road-d/
  4. Pegleg Smith Monument 4.48 miles: https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/pegleg-smith-monument
  5. : https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/fonts-point
  6. Font’s Point7.70 miles: https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/fonts-point
  7. Eagle and High Peak Mine19.07 miles: https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/eagle-high-peak-mine
  8. Owning a Vacation Home Easier Than Ever!: https://coachellavalley.com/owning-a-vacation-home-has-become-easier-than-ever/
  9. Vacationpropertypartners.com/coachella-vacation-home/: https://www.vacationpropertypartners.com/coachella-vacation-home/
  10. Newly Expanded $68M Desert Orthopedic Center Opens: https://coachellavalley.com/newly-expanded-68m-desert-orthopedic-center-opens/
  11. The Salton Sea, Salvation Mtn. After a spring visit to Joshua Tree National Park: https://coachellavalley.com/the-salton-sea-after-a-spring-visit-to-joshua-tree-national-park/

Source URL: https://coachellavalley.com/borrego-springs-and-the-galleta-meadows/